Fines & Fees for a DUI Conviction
Dui Attorney Serving Santa Barbara, California
A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in California is costly. In addition to the potential for losing your driver's license, the penalty imposed by a court will include several fines and fees. There are also indirect costs, such as the cost of transportation while your driver's license is suspended and increased insurance premiums once your driving privileges are restored.
Our Santa Barbara DUI attorneys have successfully represented people charged in thousands of DUI cases in Santa Barbara County and Southern California, and we take a special interest in assisting college-age defendants. If you have been arrested for DUI in California, you need to contact a lawyer as soon as possible.
Call Andrade Law Offices. Reach us for assistance, no matter the time of night or day if you have been arrested on DUI charges. We offer a free consultation to help you get started.
The Cost of A California DUI Conviction
The total fines, penalties, and fees imposed by the courts for DUI could be close to $5,000. You will also face higher insurance premiums for several years, and if your vehicle is towed and impounded after your arrest, you may have to pay several hundred dollars to get it back.
The fines and fees a California court may charge for a DUI conviction will vary from county to county, and may be adjusted at any time. The figures below are for guidance only.
For a DUI conviction, you may expect court-imposed penalties to cost you:
A fine of $390 up to $1,000. If there are aggravating factors in your arrest, such as a drunk driving accident or an accident with injuries, your fine will be higher than the minimum. If your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) was measured at 0.20 or higher, the fine may be as high as $5,000.
About three times the fine in court costs, which include regular penalty assessments and special DUI penalty assessments.
About $200 for a two-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program. A 30-month program assigned for a third or subsequent DUI costs around $3,000.
A $125 reissuance fee to obtain your driver's license after the suspension period. This fee is $100 if you were under age 21 at the time of violation and it was suspended under the Zero Tolerance Law.
If your BAC is 0.20 or higher, you will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. This device prevents your vehicle from starting if you have any alcohol on your breath. You will be required to pay IID installation fees of $75 to $100, plus monthly monitoring fees, which vary among companies and depend on your location.
There are many costs associated with a conviction of driving under the influence, so you should never face a DUI charge alone.
Call Andrade Law Office About Your DUI Charge
If you are looking for skilled, dedicated counsel in the face of Santa Barbara DUI charges, you have come to the right place. Our DUI defense attorneys can help you get through the process and obtain the best outcome available in your case. Andrade Law Offices has had many DUI charges dismissed or reduced for clients depending on the specific facts to minimize the impact on our clients' lives. We assist college students and adults from the Santa Barbara area of Southern California who are facing DUI charges.
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence or a related drinking-and-driving offense, contact us for help today.